Board Members


The Hon John Brumby

Chairman and Director

The Hon John Brumby was the former Premier of Victoria, Australia (2007 – 2010) and has immense experience in public life serving for more than 10 years as Treasurer and then Premier of Victoria, as well as seven years in the Federal Parliament as a member of the Hawke Government.

In Government, Mr Brumby was a champion of science, technology and innovation with major new investments in the Australian Synchrotron, the new Florey Neuroscience Centre, the $250 million BioResource Centre, the Australian Centre for Regenerative Medicine, the expansion of WEHI and the new $1 billion Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre.

Since retiring from politics, Mr Brumby has continued his active support for innovation and medical research, Chairs a number of for profit and not for profit organisations and is widely published on a range of issues.


Mr Doron Ben-Meir


Mr Ben-Meir is the inaugural Executive Director of Research, Innovation and Commercialisation at the University of Melbourne and CEO of UoM Commercial Ltd, with overall responsibility for all research funding, external commercial engagements and the commercialisation of University generated intellectual property. Mr Ben-Meir has extensive experience in the venture capital industry and commercialisation more generally and has held previous roles including the inaugural CEO of Commercialisation Australia and Director of the Entrepreneurs’ Infrastructure Programme. 

Mr Ben-Meir’s qualifications include a Bachelor of Science and a Bachelor of Electrical and Computer Systems Engineering (1st Class Honours) from Monash University, Melbourne. He is also a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Mr Ken Sloan


Mr Ken Sloan is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (Enterprise) at Monash University with overall responsibility for providing University-wide leadership and strategic support for industry partnerships, commercialisation, industry engagement, innovation and student entrepreneurship, employability and work experience.

Mr Sloan has had extensive international experience in business development and commercialisation, university administration and leadership.  Mr Sloan has previously held roles as the Chief Operating Officer at the University of Warwick, as a Business Development Director, with International Services Company SERCO, and has served as an advisor to the Stephen A. Schwarzman Education Foundation based at Tsinghua University in Beijing. He has chaired and served on the boards of a number of institutional subsidiary Companies and international development trusts.

Mr Sloan’s qualifications include an MA from the University of Glasgow, an MBA from the Warwick Business School and is a member of CPA Australia.


Dr Andrea Douglas


Dr Andrea Douglas is the Senior Vice President, Organisation Transformation and External Affairs at CSL Limited, located at CSL’s headquarters in Parkville, Australia. Dr Douglas leads CSL’s Organisation Transformation Office, which integrates and drives major organisational design changes that have broad implications to the business across areas of strategy, structure, governance, process and people. Dr Douglas also leads CSL’s government affairs strategy in Australia.     

Dr Douglas has held various roles at CSL since 2005, including Vice President, R&D Strategy and External Affairs where she led the global R&D strategy, product portfolio, R&D investment and prioritisation processes. She was also Vice President, Licensing , Head of Global R&D Project Management and Program Director, Influenza.

Before joining CSL Dr Douglas was the CEO of the Gene CRC. She also held a senior research role at WEHI where she studied the molecular genetics of breast cancer.

Dr Douglas has a PhD degree in Forensic Medicine from Monash University.  She also holds a Masters degree in Health Administration and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She has been a Director of AusBiotech since 2013 and the Baker Heart and Diabetes Institute since 2016 and joined the BioCurate Board in February 2018.